MAKING THINGS UP

The always ridiculous comments from Golf.com’s email roundtable:

Damon Hack, senior writer, Sports Illustrated: I’m taking Keegan. But, really, Bill deserves a spot, too, and Tiger should be the odd man out.

Gary Van Sickle, senior writer, Sports Illustrated: If I’m Fred, I call Tiger Woods and tell him I changed my mind. You’re out, and I’m taking Bradley and Haas.


Van Sickle
: If the Presidents Cup points list was determined over one year, like the Ryder Cup, instead of two, Bradley surely would’ve made it. In fact, it’s still unbelievable that he can have two wins, one of them a major, and not be among the top 10. Haas and Bradley both deserve to be on the team. I don’t know how you pick between them. You shouldn’t have to.

Lipsey: Woods has no business getting a pick; he’s running on the distant fumes of 14 majors and 71 Tour victories.

Umm, no, no, no and no.

Here’s a look at the 2011 rankings:

Player Z-score Rds
Bill Haas -0.42932 92
Tiger Woods -0.41394 26
Keegan Bradley -0.23753 91

So, basically, Tiger at his worst is a toss-up with Bill Haas (having the best year of his career) and well ahead of Keegan Bradley. I’m not sure about the Keegan Bradley love. Aside from winning a major, he really hasn’t been that good. No one thought he was better than Rickie Fowler coming into the PGA Championship, and one good week for Keegan doesn’t change that opinion in my head.

Tiger is No. 11 on my rankings for just this year. Bradley is No. 22. I don’t think it’s really close between those too. Luckily for Freedom, Fred Couples agrees with me.

As for my pick, If the President’s Cup was played next week, I’d say that Haas would probably be good enough to be the highest remaining based on my vegas-adjusted rankings. He would definitely get credit for winning the Tour Championship, but overall Rickie Fowler has been considered a better player for most of the year. I’d still stick with Tiger and Rickie Fowler as my picks.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

