MAJestic

Thanks to some generous pricing mid tournament Miguel Angel Jimenez winning the Dubai Desert Classic made a pretty nice week for me. Unfortunately, Hurricane Steve doesn’t drain 5-footers like MAJ makes 20 footers in playoffs.

It does bring up an interesting point as I have been looking for players with “upside” to take as my winners. That’s fine, and I think a good way to stay consistent, but it might just be semantics, too.

Consider the following list of tournaments since the PGA Playoffs where a player with “value” by my numbers(against 5dimes has won).

MAJ-Dubai Desert Classic
Steve Stricker-Northern Trust Open
Robert Karlsson-Qatar Masters
Ryan Palmer-Sony Open
Robert Allenby-Australian PGA
Robert Allenby-Nedbank Challenge
Tiger Woods-JBwere Masters
Lee Westwood-Portugal Masters
Matt Kuchar-Turning Stone
Phil Mickelson-Tour Championship
Tiger Woods-BMW Championship
James Kingston-Mercedes-Benz Championship(Euro)
Heath Slocum-Barclays
Steve Stricker-Deutsche Bank Championship

I’m not sure how much that means, but its interesting to consider. You could probably argue that all of those players are underrated in some way, but it’s not exactly the Villegas/Noren/Sergio/Hurricane Steve/Donald group that I keep backing.

There will be nothing for the Avantha Masters for right now. Mitch Lowe National Pro Am breakdown up later.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “MAJestic

  1. “I’m not sure how much that means, but its interesting to consider”

    Given the relatively low juice and the obvious market inefficiencies, I don’t think it would be unreasonable to bet each guy with an edge every single time as long as you used a conservative staking strategy.

  2. “Given the relatively low juice and the obvious market inefficiencies, I don’t think it would be unreasonable to bet each guy with an edge every single time as long as you used a conservative staking strategy.”

    I’m starting to think so too, though I don’t think my bankroll(or sanity) could handle backing the 20-50 each week that I have as value against 5 dimes. I plan on thinking and expanding more on this in the future.

Leave a Reply

