RANKING THE OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP FIELD: 74-50

99-75

74. Rod Pampling
Vegas Odds: 150-1
Chance to win: .36%
My Field Ranking: 70/125
Pampling has tied for 20th finishes in his last two outings. In 6 career Open starts Pampling has 4 made cuts. He is somewhat intriguing as a relatively underrated player, but 150-1 is not that great of a price against this field.

73. Miguel Angel Jimenez
Vegas Odds: 125-1
Chance to win: .43%
My Field Ranking: 64/125
Did you know, MAJ hits actual golf shots with a cigar in his mouth?

72. Thongchai Jaidee
Vegas Odds: 350-1
Chance to win: .08%
My Field Ranking: 68/125
Thongchai is twice a winner on the European Tour this season, both times crushing my in-running tournament bets by a stroke. If your just looking at players in Asia, Thongchai or Jeev have to be the best of the past 5 or 10 years.

71. Johan Edfors
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .14%
My Field Ranking: 79/125
Edfors is in the midst of a resurgent season on the European Tour that has seen him finish in the top-5 three times. You may have seen him for a while with his 27th place finish at the US Open, but he also played well against strong fields in the Desert series.

70. Chris Wood
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .09%
My Field Ranking: 83/125
Wood is young has a lot of potential and most notably finished in the top-5 of last year’s Open Championship as an amateur. Since then, it has been a little up and down like most young players, but he does have 3 top ten finishes in his last 4 European events.

69. Paul Goydos
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .45%
My Field Ranking: 61/125
You can’t argue with the surprisingly good results of Paul Goydos. You can argue with his upside against a top field.

68. Jeff Overton
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Chance to win: .37%
My Field Ranking: 62/125
Not really sure why Overton withdrew from the National in his last time about, but he has some really strong results on the US PGA Tour this season. Not my favorite pick of the week, and if you are interested definitely find out why he W/D, but you could do a lot worse.

67. Brandt Snedeker
Vegas Odds: 150-1
Chance to win: .28%
My Field Ranking: 80/125
Snedeker’s price seems out of line with my numbers and his play over the past year. I would be careful, though, because he has a tendency to show well at majors, seems to be finally getting over some injury issues and is on a tear in his last two tourneys.

66. D.J. Trahan
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Chance to win: -500%
My Field Ranking: 65/125
Those odds may or may not be accurate.

65. Ken Duke
Vegas Odds: 600-1
Chance to win: .19%
My Field Ranking: 58/125
Don’t see any upside with taking Ken Duke here especially since his best results came at the end of the 2008 season.

64. Richard Green
Vegas Odds: 125-1
Chance to win: .11%
My Field Ranking: 60/125
For those of you not familiar with Richard Green, He has posted three straight years of top-30 or better finishes on the European Tour Order of Merit as well as 3 top ten finishes in his last four events.

63. Bryce Molder
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .39%
My Field Ranking: 57/125
Where exactly did Bryce Molder come from?

62. Louis Oosthuizen
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .43%
My Field Ranking: 66/125
Ranked 62nd in the world, Oosthuizen is part of the underrated RSA contingent(NOTE: Does not include Retief Goosen.) Has not played as well recently as his back-to-back 2nds in the desert series, but I wouldn’t be surprised if his name popped up in the top-10 this week.

61. Thomas Aiken
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Chance to win: .77%
My Field Ranking: 76/125
Aiken is probably familiar to most readers of this blog because I really like him. He hits the ball high and far and has definite upside. 6-top tens on the European Tour is pretty impressive. However, I’m not sure he has the consistency to win a tournament right now. First round leader anyone?

60. Briny Baird
Vegas Odds: 400-1
Chance to win: .37%
My Field Ranking: 59/125
400-1? Really? I think I’d like Briny more if this was the P.F. Chang’s Open.

59. Ben Crane
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Chance to win: .08%
My Field Ranking: 55/125
Crane sticks out to me as a guy who has good ball striking stats on the US Tour because he can hit the ball high, not necessarily because he works it like Tiger or Sergio. I’m not sure he is a British Open player, but he did finish 11th in his last trip over in 2006.

58. Angel Cabrera
Vegas Odds: 70-1
Chance to win: .68%
My Field Ranking: 38/125
That price is a joke. Angel hits the ball high, long and is a streaky putter. He is a streaky player as well and I don’t see how his game translates across the pond. For a guy with two major championships, it is probably not good that he has made as many cuts as he has missed in the British Open.

57. K.J. Choi
Vegas Odds: 125-1
Chance to win: .48%
My Field Ranking: 53/125
Not much good or bad to say about KJ Choi.

56. Stephen Ames
Vegas Odds: 125-1
Chance to win: .12%
My Field Ranking: 52/125
Not a whole lot that seperates Choi from Ames in my opinion. Don’t think either will be in contention this week.

55. Matt Kuchar
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Chance to win: .33%
My Field Ranking: 52/125
Like Molder, Kuchar is a former Amateur star that has quietly sprung up with a good season this year. Apparently, he doesn’t like links golf, as he has never made the cut at the British, but 300-1 for a player of his caliber is a decent price.

54. Charley Hoffman
Vegas Odds: 200-1
Chance to win: .84%
My Field Ranking: 28/125
Unfair? Yes. But what would a full field ranking system be without a little personal bias.

53. Alvaro Quiros
Vegas Odds: 200-1
Chance to win: .84%
My Field Ranking: 63/125
If you’re wondering why I bumped up Quiros, go watch him hit driver. Very impressive, although he probably doesn’t have a great chance on a course like Turnberry, where the rough is said to be pretty brutal.

52. Gonzalo Fernandez Castano
Vegas Odds: 150-1
Chance to win: .38%
My Field Ranking: 64/125
Already earned a over a million euros(?) on the European Tour this season, which is good enough for 7th on the Order of Merit. That includes four second place finishes but no wins.

51. Anders Hansen
Vegas Odds: 180-1
Chance to win: .13%
My Field Ranking: 56/125
Hansen is fairly consistent and like most Danish golfers fairly unknown. 19th place finish at Birkdale and a win on the European tour this year might me he has a chance this week.

50. Kevin Sutherland
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Chance to win: .23%
My Field Ranking: 49/125
Sutherland always posts good results, and while not an overly talented ball striker, he is a lower hitter that could very well plod his way around the Turnberry layout. I don’t see where the upside is with Sutherland, but a 20-30th place finish where he does not get mentioned on TV once seems about the norm.

It’s still not likely that one of these players will win, but there should be a few serious contenders in here. I’ll quickly throw out Aiken, Kuchar and Green.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “RANKING THE OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP FIELD: 74-50

  1. Pingback: RANKING THE BRITISH OPEN FIELD: 49-25 « REXFORD BUZZSAW

  2. Pingback: RANKING THE OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP FIELD: 1-10 « REXFORD BUZZSAW

Leave a Reply

