RANKING THE BRITISH OPEN FIELD: 99-75

133-100

For this one I am using what my numbers say for “Reasonable Chance to win”, instead of making random guesses.

99. W.C. Liang
Vegas Odds: 750-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .00%(only 24 rounds)
My Field Ranking: 113/125
Liang is probably the best Chinese player. I talked about random names popping up on the leaderboard and Liang is my favorite possibility. Not a whole lot of success playing out of Asia for Liang, but he did make the cut at last year’s Open Championship.

98. Markus Brier
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .02%
My Field Ranking: 98/125
Brier was the first ever Austrian golfer to win on the European Tour. He has not played as well this year as in past years, but he still has a 12th place finish at Carnoustie to his name.

97.Martin Laird
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .06%
My Field Ranking: 97/125
I’m guessing Laird will be somewhat of a home country favorite, but that shouldn’t overcome a season’s worth of mediocre results.

96. Branden Grace
Vegas Odds: 600-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .008%
My Field Ranking: 96/125
Branden Grace came up through the Ernie Els foundation as well, which means if he was black we would see a few of his shots on T.V.

95. David Drysdale
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .08%
My Field Ranking: 95/125
Has never officially played in a British Open, but was a marker back in 1994. What exactly is the point of a marker?

94. Robert Rock
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .32%
My Field Ranking: 94/125
Rock is the first player so far(besides David Smail in less than 20 rounds) with a significant number of rounds that is actually better than the “average PGA Tour pro.” Again, 2 round qualifiers is not a way to make the strongest field.

93. Damien McGrane
Vegas Odds: 350-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .02%
My Field Ranking: 92/125
McGrane started the year off strong on the European Tour, then fizzled out a bit and has posted two solid results in his last two outings. Only one career Open Championship appearance, which was a missed cut.

92. Richard S. Johnson
Vegas Odds: 500-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .008%
My Field Ranking: 90/125
Really? we got Richard S. Johnson in the field and Alex Noren isn’t here. How many people have to W/D before Noren gets in. I am willing to inflict harm on a few random golfers if Noren is an alternate. Also, this major has a bigger black mark in my opinion because Alex Noren is not here than the Tiger-less majors of last year.

91.Paul Lawrie
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .03%
My Field Ranking: 91/125
Crappy British Open Champion #2.

90.Todd Hamilton
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .04%
My Field Ranking: 89/125
Crappy British Open Champion #1.

89.Darren Clarke
Vegas Odds: 150-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .12%
My Field Ranking: 88/125
Will we see the Clarke that finished 138th on the Order of Merit two years ago or 13th on the Order of Merit last year?

88. Carl Pettersson
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .03%
My Field Ranking: 87/125
Dear R&A, We are positive it is too late to put Alex Noren into the field?
Love, Rexfordbuzzsaw.

87. Prayad Marksaeng
Vegas Odds: 500-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .29%
My Field Ranking: 86/125
Marksaeng at 500-1 is probably the best price of anyone listed so far, he has a 13th place finish at Doral, 8th place at the HSBC Champions Tournament and has major championship experience. Marksaeng has never made a cut in the British Open, but did “fashion his first golf club from a bamboo stick and scrap metal.”

86. Richard Sterne
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .05%
My Field Ranking: 84/125
How did he win in back-to-back weeks again?

85. Nick Dougherty
Vegas Odds: 125-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .19%
My Field Ranking: 85/125
Dougherty has had a great recent run of form and has some upside, but for the most part is pretty overpriced at 125-1 against this strong field.

84. Gary Orr
Vegas Odds: 400-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .04%
My Field Ranking: 78/125
Orr has pretty strong results(compared to the players behind him) on the European Tour this year, with a best finish of 2nd at the European Open. Contending this week, seems like a stretch though.

83. J.B. Holmes
Vegas Odds: 300-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .24%
My Field Ranking: 81/125
I can’t see one possible advantage a pure bomber like J.B. Holmes has at a links course like Turnberry.

82. Justin Rose
Vegas Odds: 100-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .25%
My Field Ranking: 77/125
Worst price so far. Rose is not that much better on the year than the Average PGA Tour pro, but you are clearly paying for the name and a memorable 4th place finish as an Amateur. It’s tough when your best finish in a Major gets you no money.

81. Tom Lehman
Vegas Odds: 500-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .06%
My Field Ranking: 72/125
Contending at a Major is probably a stretch for this former British Open Champion right now. He has surprisingly good results for a part-time PGA Tour player, but there can’t be a lot of upside.

80. Stuart Appleby
Vegas Odds: 130-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .10%
My Field Ranking: 75/125
Story of Stuart’s season: +120 v. Bryce Molder at Congressional.

79. Stewart Cink
Vegas Odds: 130-1.
Reasonable Chance to win: .03%
My Field Ranking: 74/125
Cink went from being one of the most unheralded very strong American Players to basically falling off the map in a span of one year. I blame twitter.

78. Boo Weekley
Vegas Odds: 180-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .13%
My Field Ranking: 72/125
As a person, you can’t knock like Boo or the hilarity that would ensue if he road the pony down the 18th fairway with a three shot lead at the British Open.

77. Fredrik Jacobson
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .26%
My Field Ranking: 67/125
I refuse to talk about Swede’s not named Karlsson or Noren.

76. Ryuji Imada
Vegas Odds: 250-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .06%
My Field Ranking: 71/125
At first glance I would tell you that Imada has not been as good as last year, but 5 top 20 finishes so far this season beg to differ. When they come at such courses as Torrey Pines, Muirfield Village, Bay Hill and Congressional a good finish at Turnberry would not shock me at all for Imada.

75. Oliver Wilson
Vegas Odds: 150-1
Reasonable Chance to win: .12%
My Field Ranking: 82/125
After finishing 11th on the Euro Tour Order of Merit last season he is 9th this year. That includes a lot of good finishes in American soil events. There is definitely some upside with Wilson, and another good showing would not surprise me this week.

I think you really have to be careful with some of the infinity bets(500 or 1000-1), but I would say of this group I like Imada or Prayad Marksaeng to contend. Looking down my rankings, though, they are not even close to the best picks out there.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “RANKING THE BRITISH OPEN FIELD: 99-75

  1. So what you’re saying is my 75-1 Cink ticket I’ve been holding for 8 months doesn’t have value?

  2. You can at least bold his frickin’ name.

Leave a Reply

