THE 3 IRISH OPEN

Also known as the biggest tournament in the world this week. Using my Tour adjusted numbers this tournament has a slightly better average field than the Texas Open.

A suprisingly decent field has descended to County Louth Golf Course in Ireland. This appears to be a true links course. One of the great misnomers out there is the European guys are better suited to links golf. That is just not true, in the world of pro golf there just aren’t that many links courses.

Judging course form can be a bit tricky in that case considering there aren’t that many links courses on Tour and this one is played on a different course each year. Here is a look at the past winners, though.

For the week, It really shouldn’t surprise anyone to see who I am picking. That would be one Alexander Noren. Did you really think Noren’s missed cut last week was going to scare me off?

Noren to win +5500(.18)
Noren top-5 (Whatever I can find as long as it is better than 8-1)

Haven’t put the Noren top-5 in because I won’t be around a computer today. When I do I will fill in that line.

MATCH UPS
Paul McGinley +105 over Oliver Wilson(1)
I don’t normally like to put too much stake into injuries and such, but Wilson is traveling back across the pond this week after WD’ing because of a neck injury at the PLAYERS. On top of that, I have him and McGinley as pretty similiar players at there bests, so it’s worth a shot at plus money against a guy who I don’t expect to be in top form.

Harrington -120 over McIlroy(1)
Harrington is “out of sorts”, a former champion and a -145 favorite at 5 dimes. When I have -140 as a fair line and Harrington seems to actually have a proven track record on links courses(if it makes a difference), I think its worth a shot at -120 at the Greek.

Graeme McDowell -110 over Thomas Bjorn(1)
Help me, this is getting dangerous. I like Graeme, he is -125 at 5dimes, Bjorn is coming off two strong finishes and is not really in Graeme’s league based on a season and a half’s worth of results. I don’t see any reason why this isn’t a play at -110 at the Greek.

Darren Clarke -125 over Brett Rumford(1)
I know that Brett Rumford is not very good. Hopefully Darren Clarke hasn’t gone Sergio Garcia insane.

David Lynn -125 over Alejandro Canizares(1)
Lynn has made 4 straight cuts with a few promising finishes after missing four in a row. Maybe I’m jumping on a bit too late here, but Canizares is coming off two high finishes as well. I’ll say the better player, Lynn, is worth a shot here.

Marcus Fraser +105 over Andrew McLardy(1)
It does not take much to convince me on Marcus Fraser. Fraser, ranked 238 in the world, has posted about 6 really solid finishes this season on the Euro Tour. McLardy has some nice finishes as well, but I still have this matchup as basically even with a slight edge to Fraser. Given +105 it is worth a play.

LaCantera picks up either late tonight, If I want to post drunk or earlier Thursday morning if I want to post hungover. I’ll give you hint, I’m already on Trahan, Baird and Kim(in a few matchups).

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “THE 3 IRISH OPEN

  1. Love the Bjorn fade, he is garbage.

  2. Thanks, probably would have left this as a pass if not for the nice price the greek offered me.

  3. Unfortunately, GMAC hasn’t been playing that well this year either. Tough first round.

Leave a Reply

