TRANSITIONS CHAMPIONSHIP

How exactly is this a championship?

This is such a mediocre tournament, split between two pretty big tournaments and trying to vie with the NCAA Tournament. In all honesty, It is not getting that much attention from me, or probably the casual gambler.

Still, Golf is my favorite sport to wager on(If gambling were legal, of course).*

*I’m not sure why.

COURSE: I don’t really care this week other than that Innisbrook played very hard last year. I don’t know why considering that was by far the lowest number in relation to par of any of the years I looked at.

FADES:
Jim Fuyrk: Cut between the shots of Tiger finishing nine shots back, you may have been able to catch a glimmer of Fuyrk firing a nice round on Sunday to move up to third. Maybe. If you looked close enough.

Charley Hoffman
Davis Love III
Dustin Johnson
Rory Sabbatini

I don’t even look anymore to see if they are in the field, I just know I will be betting against them.

LOOKS:
Stephen Ames: Woah, absolutely no one is bringing up his name coming into this for a guy who is a decent ball striker. In my opinion it is a marginal play now because his odds have been hit down a bit and it is a marginal tournament to begin with. This screams fantasy.

Alvaro Quiros: I don’t know that this is a course that suits his game, but 66-1 is a very good price for a golfer ranked so highly by me and the OWGR’s. When I saw the price had dropped It was enough to scare me off. Introducing you to your next Transitions Champion, from Spain…

THE PICKS:
Matthew Goggin 80-1 (.12)
top-5 14-1(.66)

Steve Marino 80-1(.12)
top-5 18-1(.52)

Both of these players are good enough ball strikers to hit there way around this course and contend based on that. Will they do that? Probably not.

MATCHUPS:
Retief Goosen +115 over Charley Hoffman(1)
Retief Goosen +115 over David Toms(1)
Goggin -130 over Trevor Immelman(1)

There are a few more that I am currently still debating, but that is it for now. Goggin opened at -110, which I think I correctly predicted was pretty absurd. I still think -130 has value. I would say up to -160 you could make a case for. Goggin has just been a lot better golfer minus one tournament in Georgia last year.

Fantasy and any Euro plays will be posted later today.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

